CASE Versions

If you have already cases provided to your students and you want to update these, you can use the versioning function.

Impact on Player: This allows students who have already started a session on the old version of a case to continue working on it, whereas for students who have not yet started the new version is displayed.

Impact on Reports: In the “Case Use Reports” on cell represents working of student X has worked on case Y. When case is “versioned” not only the exact case will be displayed but also case sessions of any version under this case. In course manager the newest version you want to be displayed needs to be in the “cases” tab of course manager settings. By this you can control the behaviour. Common use case:

  • In course manager - cases e.g. case version 3 is inluded, a case version 4 is already in progress but not yet in course manager: This will result in reports a cell will represent a student has worked on version 1, version 2 or version 3. version 4 is excluded at this point.
  • When you now changhe course manager - cases and replace the case version 3 by case version 4 a cell in reports will represent a student has worked on version 1, version 2, version 3 or version 4.
  • As versioning has to provide extra data structure to be efficient, whether you declare a version with the case copy tool or switch later in case overview please let CASUS support know before you make that life!

Please do the following to use versioning:
To create the new version of your original case, ask your administrator (or us) to create a case copy. The administrator has to be aware of the versioning flag which is provided on theexport admin page. You can then edit and update the clone case (this does not affect your original case).
As soon as you want to make the new version available you have to remove the old case version in the course and replace it with the new one. This can be done at any time in an active course and will  provide the new version only to those students who have not yet started a session or if students reset a session.

After some time you should do the final switch by deleting/archiving the original case. This will end the display of the old version and display the new version to all students no matter whether they have already started a session.


Page Tools